Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Soft and isolated sounding electronica filled with field sampling, simple and beautful melodies and organic textures, for his second album Christian Löffler moved away from sample based production and recorded everything himself, capturing his space and producing organically. With four tracks featuring long time collaborator Mohna who brings a Coco Rosie/Sea Oleena lullaby like quality to the tracks.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Triple LP £26.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £5.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 270 ?
  • KILP11 / 3LP on Ki Records
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • KICD11 / CD on Ki Records

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Triple LP £30.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • KILP11LTD / Limited CLEAR vinyl 3LP + CD + poster on Ki Records

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Mare by Christian Löffler
2 reviews. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 03 November 2016

Hello. Meet Christian. Christian makes beautifully light electronica: organic sounding and feathery at the edges. And soft and fluffy in the middle. He made his second album whilst under the influence of the shadows of willow trees on the wooden interior of his log cabin on the Baltic (seriously, check out the press release. Even if that’s a succinct summary). He called this record ‘Mare’, which is funny ‘cos it’s more dreamlike. See what I did there…

Opening track ‘Myiami’ has the nicely warm and pulsating electronica of the sort I associate with Jon Hopkins. It leads into the very pretty ‘Haul’ which features Mohna and her layered, haunting vocal reminiscent of CocoRosie. The darker shades and textures on ‘Mosaics’ -- with its synth stabs, spliced beats and voice -- recall parts of the excellent ‘Potential’ by the Range which came out earlier this year. An atmosphere of yearning melancholy rings through the record, which particularly chimes through the aching strings and woodwind touches on instrumental tracks ‘Neo’ and ‘Krone’.

Lush and slightly sad soundscapes predominate on the record, with the softest moments featuring the tenderest of skeletal piano melodies (‘Youth’) overlaid with gossamer-like field recordings. Mohna is back on the album’s title track with her childlike soft voice carefully treading a melodic path over Loeffler’s swaying rhythm. Beats pulse on the atmos-house of ‘Athlete’ and ‘Silk’. A delicious record with many highlights

10/10 Daniel Customer rating (no review), 2nd March 2018


  • Mare by Christian Löffler


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.