Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Swans and Om take mescaline and go on a kraut-rock inner journey through the desert..maaaan.. Droning and heavy, and it goes on and on, building to incredibly intense peaks, psychedelic wig outs on fuzzed-to-hell guitars. Tracks averaging at about 15 minutes a piece, you might get lost. Question is will you come back.

  • CD £12.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • ST1608 / Reissue CD on Sulatron
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


The Doomsday Machine by Electric Moon 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

7/10 Staff review, 24 January 2017

Hard-edged psychers Electric Moon have released a lot of records, at this point, and the crux of the matter is that they never let up: they’re long, unwieldy things best described as behemoths and best experienced the way you might slowmo trance. ‘The Doomsday Machine’ was initially released in 2011 and gave its genre specifications a stormy treatment: never ones to keep it light, Electric Moon doomed up psych rock with gruesome low-end, super-noisy distortion and a complete refusal to let up on the repetition.

The record’s opening title track is nineteen minutes of flavourless psych rock, heavy on the ear and almost spiteful in its presentation: the solos take place in an overdriven oblivion and the vocals simply wander in and out of the chaotic noise textures, which are coated over the repeating riff and drumbeat, sounding like Merzbow in a mood. The piece eventually collapses into percussive shimmers and wandering guitar inflections, but for the most part, it’s just this: a grey, gruesome slab.

The record is largely this protracted, super heavy blast of hate, and it feels almost metal in presentation -- but there are flickers of a more ethereal psych at play, as on “Spaceman”, where the vocals get dreamier and a synth backs the bastards. Tunes like “Keiner Knaller” set up Electric Moon as a soundscape band at heart, their black hole production and contemplative guitars counterpointing the steady onslaught of dirge they’re pushing. Still as fascinatingly horrible as it was five years ago -- you haven’t heard psychedelia as scorned as this.




Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7739 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.