Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

The debut album from Å Asher-Yates is a fragile set of nature-inspired pieces that seem to slip back and forth between fluttering abstractions and ‘songs’. Mother’s Garden is bucolic and intimate like a woozy summer’s afternoon. Released by Shimmering Moods in a slender limited edition of 50 CDr copies, hand-numbered and hand-packaged.

  • CD £12.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 125 ?
  • / CDr on Shimmering Moods. Edition of 50 copies in handmade, hand-numbered packaging

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Mothers Garden by Å Asher-Yates
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
7/10 Jamie Staff review, 26 September 2016

The second of the latest brace of releases from the dependable, ever-translucent Shimmering Moods imprint is the debut release from Anthony Asher-Yates. It’s an album of reflective ambience that sits / sways woozily at the bucolic end of the electro-acoustic spectrum. I mean, there’s an acoustic guitar in here for crying-out-loud! And very prettily picked it is too.

Asher-Yates has successfully evoked atmospheres of calm and moments of reflection on this record. It’s meditative, y’know? He wanted it to sound like he just sat down in a bed of grass or in the woods, strummed his instrument and just hit the record button. Mission accomplished, I guess. Field recordings -- birds twittering and other wildlife sounds collected in the countryside -- of course accompany the delicate drones, and yes: shimmering tones which adorn the record.

There are also what you could definitely call song structures. Summery songs, now that summer has ended obviously. Did I say the guitar on this record is pretty? Well it is. It really is. It is presented close-mic’d on a series of tranquil miniatures; the moments of wide-eyed clarity between the abstractions. Literal titles, too: ‘(Rain)’ contains sounds of a softly falling rain shower against Asher-Yates’ distant, muffled voice; ‘Song Bird Sounds’ features… oh, you guessed it. And the closing track, ‘Pretty Things’... does what it says on the tin too. All very pleasant.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.