Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Pictish Trail has been beavering away on this album in the splendid isolation of the Hebrides island of Eigg, where only his own bountiful creativity can intrude. Future Echoes is a lovely little set of lively folky songs with substantial lashings of electro-disco touches: there is much to enjoy here. Out on Lost Map, with both CD and vinyl editions coming with a full supply of artwork.

  • CD £10.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • / Digipak CD on Lost Map
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • FIRECD501 / CD on Fire

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £19.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / Gatefold LP on Lost Map
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Future Echoes by Pictish Trail 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!

7/10 Staff review, 08 September 2016

Jonny Lynch (aka Pictish Trail) is a very busy man. First he co-ran the Fence Collective alongside Kenny Anderson (King Creosote) for almost twenty years and once that label disbanded has been running the equally good Lost Map. None of this should distract from his own music with the Pictish Trail however and this latest release is his most polished yet.

The press release suggests that this record was made…or at least planned in a caravan in the Outer Hebrides. All of which would suggest an album of rustic folk but appearances can be deceptive. What we have instead is an album of shiny synth heavy pop music with the only nod to its background being the Scottish inflection in some of the vocal phrasing. It’s a slickly enjoyable album which will appeal to fans of Metronomy and Hot Chip. ‘Lionhead’ in fact with it’s spiralling guitars and propulsive rhythms is redolent of some of the later Wild Beasts material and adds a bit shout along chorus which Ii’m sure with sound great tumbling down from the glens.

I’m finding the album a bit synthetic to hit the emotional sweet spot and only Lynch’s voice provides the much needed human element. His keening vocals help save tracks like ‘Rhombus’ from terminal boredom but this is a solid effort that will appeal to fans of King Creosote and Mull Historical Society.





Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.