Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Roberto Musci collected the source field recordings for the music presented here on a wide array of international travels many decade ago. When he got home, he built on those sounds with synthesisers to make curious new hybrid musics. Very exploratory. Tower Of Silence is a double LP on Music From Memory.

  • Double LP £19.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • MFM 014
  • MFM 014 / 2LP on Music From Memory

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Tower of Silence by Roberto Musci 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!

8/10 Staff review, 27 February 2017

Milanese composer and multi-instrumentalist Roberto Musci must’ve become very restless by his late teens because in 1974, still aged only 18, he left his native Italy for the more exotic destinations of the African and Asian continents. On his travels (he would roam for the next decade or so), he curated sounds (but of course) using his tape recorder. Those field recordings he later brought home, along with a collection of new instruments, to make hybrids of music set to his synths and home-made electronics. There are some lovely sounds on this document, hat tip again to the ceaseless archive-excavating work of those Music From Memory folk.

There are 23 tracks on this record, split across two vinyl LPs. Amongst the many high-water marks here, let’s start with ‘Nexus On The Beach’. Warm synth chords signal something very chilled indeed. Gently tinkling bells, softly plucked string instruments and woodwind permeate the waterside setting. ‘Water Music’ is similarly explorative; layers of horizontal slide guitar are pasted upon muted, softly malleted, chiming glockenspiel-like instrumentation and rhythmic african singing. ‘Woman of Water and Music’ joins undulating synth chords and slowly percussive oriental drums to hypnotic effect. ‘Tower of Silence’ begins with deeply buzzing and throbbing electronics, soon to be joined by chimes and swirling effects becoming increasingly frenetic, yet still suitable for your daily meditation… Fancy that.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.