Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Terre Thaemlitz’s Comatonse Recordings label is rolling out a three-part series of releases from Will Long, a fellow deep house technician. Purple / Blue (Long Trax EP 1) has two tracks from Long (aka Celer), as well as two overdubs by Thaemlitz themselves, under their DJ Sprinkles alias. Everything here is borne of a long-term engagement with house music and its implications, and these 2 12”s will be crucial for all Thaemlitz followers.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £16.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • C.026EP1
  • C.026EP1 / Limited repress 2LP on Comatonse Recordings

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Purple / Blue (Long Trax EP 1) by Will Long & DJ Sprinkles
2 reviews. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 24 August 2016

*First up ..some actual useful information. You are going to have to move quick if you want one of these as it already appears to be sold out everywhere.*

It’s a intriguing sounding collaboration between Celer’s Will Long and Terre Thaemlitz (aka DJ Sprinkles). Anyone who has heard the deep soft house of Sprinkles previous works will know what they are getting here and the unusual blunt sampled voices that occupy many tracks on ‘Midtown 120 Blues’  are immediately evident along with those loose bass lines and minimal percussion. If anything it’s more unfinished sounding than Sprinkles usual work, less tight and clipped more like a pleasant studio jam session. In fact the working method has been that Sprinkles has worked atop original material by Long. It has the same sense of slow detachment as Long’s other work with slow moving synth washes creating soothing atmospheres as a bedrock for the unhurried compositions.

Full disclosure is that I only have a handful of samples to listen to here (do you really want me to spoil your LP by putting my grubby mitts all over it?) but it’s easy to get swallowed up into this sound world and for once the collaboration does what you’d think it might do even if you only have a cursory knowledge of the artists previous work.

9/10 Andrew Customer rating (no review), 1st March 2017


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.