Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

4 reviews »

Half of S U R V I V E have just scored the soundtrack to the 80’s obsessed Stranger Things. A perfect choice considering their material. Grab John Carpenter, College, Gatekeeper, Blanck Mass and a bit of Ben Frost, put ‘em in a room and let ‘em fight it out, the brilliant mess that’s left would be this stuff. An imagine 80’s indie synth horror/adventure flick.

  • LP £16.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 170 ?
  • 0781676734917 / LP on Relapse
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • Tape £9.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.60 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • HD037 / Cassette tape on Holodeck Records. Edition of 1000 copies
  • Only 3 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £10.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 105 ?
  • 0781676734924 / CD on Relapse

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £16.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • RR7349
  • RR7349 / RSD store exclusive colourway : Black inside ‘Easter Yellow’ coloured vinyl LP on Relapse. Edition of 600 copies
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


RR7349 by S U R V I V E 4 reviews. Add your own review. 8/10
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!

7/10 Staff review, 27 September 2016

So… you liked ‘Stranger Things’, right? We did. Well, those of us that watched it enjoyed it. That soundtrack was great. You might have bought it from us. Turns out the guys that made the music to the early-80s-set TV series are one half of this group, S U R V I V E. Yes, four people got together and removed the dust-sheets from their vintage synths one more time. There’s no getting away from those synth-horror / sci-fi tags. Nor from John Carpenter, sorry. The spirit of the big J.C. (still with us, of course) looms over the opener ‘A.H.B.’

There’s also a fair amount of dystopian grooviness going on here, too. That’s good news. The spacey, labyrinthine ‘Dirt’ has echoes of the kinds of adventures Blanck Mass like to have when on holiday. ‘High Rise’ towers with the ominously, darkly melodic and percussive flavours of Ben Frost. The arpeggiated melodies of ‘Wardenclyffe’ remind me a little of early Human League. Prettiness to offset the doom.

‘Sorcerer’ claims magic powers but really only closed an envelope or two. Oddly though, this means more space. Those analogs are free to roam and reveal mysterious terrain. We know this because they play deeper and darker chords, plumbing those murky depths with a water-submerged drumbeat for company. Talking of mist, ‘Low Fog’ sets another atmospheric scene with buzzing, choral sounds. ‘Copter’ is a circling beast. The record ends with the terrifying ‘Cutthroat’. Thanks for seeing us through to the next season, guys.

9/10 Customer rating (no review), 28th June 2017
8/10 Customer rating (no review), 1st May 2017
8/10 Customer rating (no review), 22nd November 2016




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.