Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

New music from veteran beats-producer Nobody, who has returned to his deep deep vinyl creates to extract gems ripe for sampling: orchestral fragments, tribal drums, a church organ and much else can be heard. Most of Prodigal Son is all-instrumental, but 2 tracks have vocals from Sahtyre and Open Mike Eagle respectively. On Alpha Pup.

  • LP £19.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • APR081LP
  • APR081LP / LP on Alpha Pup

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Prodigal Son by Nobody
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 13 July 2016

It's slightly depressing when I hear artists who I think of as fairly contemporary being described as 'veterans' but indeed LA beatmaker Nobody has been around since the '90s and that's a long, long time ago. 

For the uninitiated he makes the kind of head nodding back packer hip hop that also appeals to fans of the likes of Daedelus and Onra. This latest mini album is mostly made out of superbly crafted instrumental tracks with delicious samples sourced such as the classical piano motif that runs through opener 'Memory Lane'. The eastern type sounds that are used on this and on the lolloping 'March of the Drunks' are where I'm getting my Onra references from as there are plenty of similarities to his 'Chinoiseries' projects.

The two tracks that include vocals raise the energy levels somewhat. Sahtyre's energetic vocals on 'ANGHAM' thug everything up a bit but still beneath his swashbuckling style you can here the warm tones of Nobody's production chops. 'Feel At Home' closes the album is the other vocal track and this has a much more laid back 'Ganstas Paradise' style weep style and although it's a little shock hearing vocals on such a lush instrumental album I don't feel they are totally out of place. Nobody has a lovely flowing style of production that shouldn't be underestimated and this album is a really nice melange of what he can do. Recommended.    


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.