Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 10 people love this record: be the 11th!

After three years of absence since 2013’s Praga De Urubu Só Pega Em Cavalo Magro, the guys behind Tropa Macaca are back with more wild experimental tunes, this time on Trilogy Tapes. Expect haunting synthesizers that meander around minimal beats. All in all, Vida is a five-star introduction into the laboratory of a mad sound-professor.

  • LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • TTT042
  • TTT042 / LP on The Trilogy Tapes

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Tropa Macaca - Vida - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Vida by Tropa Macaca


Vida by Tropa Macaca
1 review. Add your own review.
10 people love this record. Be the 11th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 13 June 2016

The first long-form record from Portuguese duo Tropa Macaca since their 2013 LP, Praga De Urubu Só Pega Em Cavalo Magro, André Abel and Joana da Conceição have turned in four tracks of minimal, pared-back experimentation for ‘Vida’.

Opening track on side A, ‘Igual A Si’, hums and buzzes with modular synth and improvised guitar fretwork. In fact, the whole record gives the impression of a living, industrious collective of insects. On ‘Pelos Olhos De Osiris’, guitar and assorted electroacoustic instrumentation buzz with all the frenzied activity of a hive of bees, going about their work in an orderly if seemingly random manner. Chimes flutter as so many suspended butterflies, while the bass undulates with the subtle fluctuations of a weightless hoverfly.

‘Arestas Do Tempo’, meanwhile on side B, has all the purposeful intent of a well organised army of ants, the mechanistic repetition engendered by a splintered but orchestrating scratchy bass leading off into the building throb of staccato, unified twin synth pulse. ‘Sol a Nascer’ closes the record with pounding drum, ravey ‘pewwww’ sounds, more warped guitar and increasingly alien-sounding synth to the combined effect of a swarm of partying termites and locusts. Banging. OK you can stop itching now.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.