Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Produced by MJ from Leeds psychedelic noise Gods Hookworms, this is Durham-spawned power pop outfit Martha's second album. Comprising J. Cairns and Daniel Ellis on guitars, Naomi Griffin on bass and Nathan Stephens Griffin (drums), with all four members providing the vocals and song writing, Martha (which is none of their names) do upbeat pop with highbrow lyrics inspired by Coronation Street and supermarkets. Choose between mustard and blue-with-orange-splatter vinyl. Ah Hell, get both. 

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £14.49
  • Pre-order: ships when released ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 145 ?
  • FPOP198LP / 180g black vinyl repress LP on Fortuna POP!

This pre-order item was due in on 25th May 2018 but has been delayed - sorry! Please contact us if you need more details.

  • CD £10.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • FPOP198CD / Gatefold CD on Fortuna POP!

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £14.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • FPOP198LPX
  • FPOP198LPX / Indies only blue with orange splatter vinyl LP on Fortuna POP!

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Blisters In The Pit Of My Heart by Martha
2 reviews. Add your own review.
22 people love this record. Be the 23rd!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 06 July 2016

Lovely Martha are basically a pop-punk supergroup to the stars. 50% folk-shouting duo ONSIND, 25% raw power poppers No Ditching and 25% prolific songwriter and ex Discount Horse, there’s a lot of chops in this band -- happy chops, angsty chops, catchy chops, they’re all here. The Durham quartet have been active on everything but the LP front since 2014’s ‘Courting Strong’, but this record sees them in fine form, switching between the usual lyrical tirades and straight-and-narrow, na na naing choruses -- and the silly surfy riffs that divide all things.

Martha’s sound is loose, but you can latch onto it: vocals flutter between band members as and when, basslines swing carelessly through the air and the solos are played with the boredom-swapped-excitement of teenagers hanging out in the music rooms on schoolbreak. “Chekov’s Hangmail” combines a simple lil’ refrain (“when you gonna get off work?”, which, I don’t know, I really don’t know) with a guitar figure designed to describe the etymology of the word Cheeky. The riff central to the jaunty, pace-obliviating “Do Whatever”, honestly sounds like a La Roux hook, repurposed for your smallest local venue. The one on “Goldman’s Detective Agency” has that lil’ hint of joyous metal, a la Tony Molina, before it sparkles for the band to trail down gang vocals.

I realise I’m basically just doing a track-by-track via riffs here, but it’s only because I don’t wanna be boring. I’m not going to ruin this very enjoyable, obviously heartfelt and quite kind-hearted pop-punk record by talking about it, so lemme just say: that guitar bit is cool. So is that one. And that one. And that one. La la la, yay and etcetera.

9/10 Antonia Customer review, 28th January 2017

Can't pick a fave track, but 'Goldman's Detective Agency' has been in my head since it was released, that RIFF man, that riff is f'ing good. Lyrically the whole album is great, particularly "They say do whatever feels right, but nothing ever feels right." (Do Nothing) and "Hey sunshine, don't you want something more? Hey, something you never felt before, I know that I do." (Do Whatever).

I like lyrics, they are the first part of songs I identify with, because despite trying my best to play bass, I fear I am tone deaf. This band manage to write about feeling hopeless and hopeful at the same time, the feeling I get when I listen to this album is a bit like the feelings I used to have when I drank all those vodka redbulls when I was a 19 year old indie DJ. I would have DJed these songs and the club would have been annoyed because it's not Kings of Leon and people like Kings of Leon, but who wants to be the Kings of Leon when you can be Vegan Anarchists from Durham.

There's a song called 'curly and raquel' too, ask me about #couplegoals and I'll tell you they are mine, even though Raquel left him after a year and ran off to Kuala Lumpur. Anyway, I digress, this album is really f* great, listen to it and then buy it and tell your mates. Honestly, it's really, really great.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.