Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 10 people love this record: be the 11th!

Two essential legends of different genres, united! Philip Glass is the face of contemporary minimalist composition, and Ravi Shankar is one of the most widely Western-known composers of Indian classical music. Wow! Passages, their 1990 collaboration, is a remarkably successful melding, all spiralling melody and stately texture. Reissue on Music On Vinyl.

  • LP £21.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-14 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 220 ?
  • MOVCL022 / 180g vinyl reissue LP on Music On Vinyl

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-14 days but delays are possible.


Passages by Ravi Shankar and Philip Glass
1 review. Add your own review.
10 people love this record. Be the 11th!

9/10 Jack Customer review, 1st June 2016

Half of these pieces were written by Glass, half by Shankar. They seemed to try to emulate each other's styles, so it's really hard to tell who wrote which piece without a scorecard - in other words, an exquisite collaboration. A listener may be disappointed if he expects Ravi Shankar's traditional quartet recordings or Philip Glass's swirling minimalist recordings like "Einstein On The Beach". But if you like Ravi Shankar's more polished productions like "Tana Mana" or Glass's soundtracks such as "Powaqqatsi", you'll love this.


  • Passages by Ravi Shankar and Philip Glass


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.