Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

To mark 20 years of the Blueprint label being at the forefront of British techno they have collated 17 massive unreleased tracks onto four clear vinyls. Old boys like Planetary Assault Systems (Luke Slater) and Regis share space with the fresh blood with the likes of Lakker and Randomer. A must for any techno head.

LP box set £34.99 BP2016

Black vinyl repress 4LP set on Blueprint inc. Regis, Blawan, Truss, The Fear Ratio, Lakker, Tessela, Planetary Assault Systems, Steve Bicknell, Randomer, DVS1, Oliver Ho etc. Includes stickers + poster.

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.



Structures and Solutions 1996-2016 by Various
1 review. Write a review for us »
8/10 Ant Staff review, 16 June 2016

When you stop and think about all the techno labels that have come and gone over the years, twenty years in the game without compromise is quite an achievement. Hats off to UK techno stalwart James Ruskin who celebrates two decades of existence for his Blueprint imprint. To mark the occasion there’s been 12”s from Surgeon and Oliver Ho and now he’s rounded up his allies for a slammin’ clear vinyl 4LP set which includes stickers (straight on the record box) and a double-sided foldout poster.
The package is rammed with seventeen all exclusive cuts from both veterans and the new-skool; Regis, Blawan, Tessela, Randomer, O/V/R, Lakker, Makaton, Planetary Assault Systems, Steve Bicknell, Truss, Rumah & Progression, Rommek, Oliver Ho, The Fear Ratio, James Ruskin & DVS1.

O/V/R is Ruskin himself with Karl O’Conner (Regis) who open the collection with the clanging, clanking, nasty metallic stepper ‘Metal Slipper’. Lakker go deep into the echo chamber with the creeping ‘Chain of Combs’. Ruskin and Minneapolis producer DVS1’s ‘Page 1’ has a disorientating bassline that’ll have dancers swaying as if on board a ship riding a storm. Makaton provides some pounding trippy minimalism.

On the second slab of wax Luke Slater turns in the galloping ‘Pull’ as Planetary Assault Systems, Lost/ Cosmic mainman Steve Bicknell delivers a squidged, throbbing sub bass driven, stripped back DJ tool in the form of ‘Disguise of Beings’. Regis’s ‘Party Spoiler Too’ is an aggressive banger in the vein of his early/ mid-period tracks. Possibly from a DAT he found down the back of the couch.
Some of the newer guys really deliver; Randomer’s ‘Sheen’ being one of the highlights - a darkside stomper with menacing bass and rattling metal percussion.

On the third record Truss’s ‘Wonastow’ is a tough off-beat pounder. The driving momentum and clanging bells of Rumah and Progression’s ‘Speak Spell’ was dropped by Dave Clarke on his White Noise show the other day. James Ruskin swerves the four to the floor with the shuddering beats of ‘6teenth’. Tessela’s ‘Rub’ is reminiscent of Ben Sims' early tracks on Theory.

The fourth plate has Rommek go for the gloomy spaced out droning approach complete with lysergic avian loops. Blawan goes at his modular for a shuffler fizzing with static and looped vocal snatch. Oliver Ho’s ‘The Serpent Devours Itself’ is another highlight, as brooding and blackened as the title suggests. Ruskin and Mark Broom’s The Fear Ratio cut ‘Lonor’ is smoked out hip hop with a techno sound palette. Finally Lakker close the set with the ticking mechanical clockwork like percussion and eerie melodies of ‘Orange. Phew! Happy Birthday Blueprint.


O/V/R - Metal Slipper (Original Mix) [BLUEPRINT RECORDS] - YouTube


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.