Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Hotel Wrecking City Traders are an instrumental Australian group who tread the line between psychedelic rock jams and noise rock detonations. Phantomonium is grounded by heavy rhythms and covered in thick guitar fuzz: it's no surprise to hear they recently released a split with Hey Colossus. Released on white vinyl in a limited edition of 300 copies by Evil Hoodoo.

  • LP £13.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 135 ?
  • EH-012 / Limited white vinyl LP on Evil Hoodoo. Edition of 300 copies
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Phantamonium by Hotel Wrecking City Traders 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

7/10 Staff review, 22 March 2016

Welcome to the Hotel Wrecking City Traders; you can check out and frankly I’d strongly advise doing so because the place is gonna get demolished real soon. These Aussie psych rock meanies open ‘Phantamonium’ with as much bleakness as they can muster, letting a riff circle the drain, interpolate with noisy residue and ready itself for the ‘90s alt rock climax it so thoroughly deserves. It’s kinda derivative -- or maybe it’s just that this sound has always existed and always will -- but by the time “Dusted Pines” gets going you’re already complicit in it. It’s hard to turn away from those drums, isn’t it?

This record is basically predicated on the idea of matching its current crescendo and raising it ten, so once “Dusted Pines” is done the title track decides to flounder under a desolate riff before it gets struck by wah pedal lightning and a busy-bodying drumbeat that hisses as much as it thrashes. “Droned & Disowned” has a sparkly yet tragic little guitar maneuver that could well prove fundamental to an adaptation of Friday Night Lights where they all play Magic: The Gathering instead of american football -- it’s spooky, but inspired by post-rock, it makes emotive moves. Whatever genre you come to it for -- this, that or the other plus noise rock -- this record is one for the version of you who wants to rise and rise and rise. No sitting still.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.