Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 12 people love this record: be the 13th!

Alun Woodward hasn’t been sighted in the music world for 7 years, but the former Delgado / Lord Cut Glass man now returns under his own name to soundtrack a film about maverick Scottish cyclist Graeme Obree. Music From Battle Mountain is a lush, looped-up set of electronica that sounds like it would be a perfect accompaniment to slowly accomplishing a big hill. 180g vinyl release in a limited edition of 500 copies. On Chemikal Underground.

  • LP £15.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • CHEM236 / Limited 180g vinyl LP on Chemikal Underground. Edition of 500.
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Music From Battle Mountain by Alun Woodward
1 review. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 07 April 2016

This year I like cycling. I tell you what happened…I bought a bike. Nothing better after a day of listening to bad music and getting nagged at is getting out on the open road and feeling real life fresh air. I’m therefore interested in this upcoming documentary about maverick Scottish cyclist Graeme Obree.

The soundtrack to the film has been made by former Delgado Alun Woodward and it is a very good thing indeed. It is a series of lovely musical evocations that are made with organs  and guitars. The opening ‘Black Box’ is a droning piece of organ work with lovely unexpected fluttery bits, ‘Mohair’ is a pretty piece of intertwining guitars that will appeal to any fans of that Scottish brand of guitar introspection. The tape-delayed acoustics of ‘Slide’ are also deeply affecting. ‘I Was the King’ introduces singsongy vocal over bell-like synths which shifts the mood somewhat from the dreamy instrumental pieces. But this clarity is generally an anomaly, the album drifts lovingly and lazily by and Woodward has created a varied soundtrack using very simple tools.

I’ve not seen the film yet but I imagine these pieces are twice as evocative when set against scenes of wide open roads in beautiful places. 




What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.