Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 9 people love this record: be the 10th!

Zauberberg is of course the original German title of Thomas Mann’s magnum opus The Magic Mountain. This album is the result of the 3 artists involved making recordings of the area Mann was writing about, and processing their results. Kassel Jaeger, Akira Rabelais and Stephen Mathieu all have major electroacoustic credentials, and so this is an excellent piece of ambience.

  • LP £12.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • SP068
  • SP068 / LP on Shelter Press. Edition of 500 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Kassel Jaeger, Stephan Mathieu, Akira Rabelais - Zauberberg - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Zauberberg by Kassel Jaeger, Stephan Mathieu, Akira Rabelais


Zauberberg by Kassel Jaeger, Stephan Mathieu, Akira Rabelais
1 review. Add your own review.
9 people love this record. Be the 10th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 23 February 2016

Jaeger, Mathieu and Rabelais are three French experimental composers who have here produced something quite ethereal and lovely. "Zauberberg" is one long-form piece, made up of interconnecting sound-scenes. The electro-acoustic ambience is evocative of absolute serenity in harmony with its surroundings; picture an Alpine lake, if you will, as helpfully illustrated on the very attractive sleeve. Sonically there are static clicks and pops (no need to check your turntable!) weaved in amongst miniature muted flute motifs and slow, somnambulant piano lines. The creak of wood underfoot, a rocking chair gently swaying. It's best experienced listened to in totality from beginning to end, possibly in a shed. Or in your front room, curtains drawn, headphones on. I'm not to be disturbed for the rest of the night, thanks.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.