Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Transition is a very interesting record, combining the talents of Vessel (part of Bristol’s Young Echo collective) with Daniel Thorne’s contemporary Immix Ensemble. Vessel’s electronics creep around the edges of the clarinets, strings etc. of the Ensemble, in a set of carefully worked-out, dynamic compositions. A highly original LP. On Erased Tapes.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 12" £12.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-28 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • ERATP082LP / 12" EP on Erased Tapes. Includes 8-page booklet
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-28 days but delays are possible.


Transition by Immix Ensemble & Vessel
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Laurie Staff review, 17 March 2016

Alas, due to the lack of streaming for this aside from one track, I can only provide a brief glance-over, which is a shame because what is displayed in those 5 and a half minutes is glorious. This EP is collaboration between Bristol’s techno-ish dirger Vessel and the Immix Ensemble, a group of blowers and bowers from the Merseyside area.

As the EP covers the progression of music technology from ancient times to the present day (guess which bit Vessel covers?), the opener ‘What Hath God Wrought’ dramatises the primal emergence of music as we know it today, with saxes and clarinets rasping, tooting and playing pleasant melodies in an unpredictable way. At times it swells to grinding peaks, at others the sax scatters and borders on free improv, but provides such a wide range of little snapshots to be an audible flick-book. Vessel provides some subtle static noisings to add some saturation to the mix, accenting various points. Something tells me he has more to say later on, and I for one will be hunting down those clips, as should you.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.