Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

By combining improvised guitar, cello, drums and processed voice, Eddie Halliday creates a one-man, multi-instrumentalist drone. His album Wooze arrives on limited digipak CD from Naked Tree Recordings, and is an intimate pieces of ambient soundscaping that slowly builds and combines his delicate loops.

  • CD £8.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / Limited digipak CD on Naked Tree Recordings

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Wooze by Eddie Halliday


Wooze by Eddie Halliday 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

9/10 Staff review, 28 January 2016

The outer sleeve declares Wooze as a series of ‘rich and organic soundscapes for fans of lo-fi indie and ambient drone’. Where’s Robin when you need him?? Oh right, he’s just over there. But his ears are currently broken, so he can only hear the spangled frequencies of the Psych explosion, the poor soul. Get well soon Robin.

When he’s not drenching his possessions in reverb, Eddie Halliday plays any instrument he can find in order to make steady drones, but only finds a cello, guitar, some drums and his voice. A pretty good haul I guess. Expect some real distant guitar jangles like the post-rock or cleangaze of old, but with some moodier, broodier melodic layers that gently billow like grey clouds. The cello rises into peaks from time to time, peeking out over the top of the rest. But this ain’t just a smeary-drone affair - there’s a Low-esque dirge song with an actual rhythm, clean guitar figure and soft vocal at ‘Lapp’ that has a slightly surreal but peaceful feel to it in general. Positive, but slightly ill at ease. More people should mix discernible musics with their drone-smears, it makes a better album, though does give the appearance of a disjointed whole if overstepped, as this is only a little bit. ‘Face Tan’ does it too, the deep song thing, and I’m captivated.

Apart from those welcome departures, the rest is oceanic ambient fare, that washes about like a good Home Normal release from Olan Mill, or perhaps a Chihei Hatakeyama / Hakobune guitar lather. But unlike those records, you get to hear the guitar and other instruments relatively crystal clear from time to time, which propels this way above those. It's well woozy.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.