Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Restless post-punk/hardcore funny business from Sievehead. Into the Blue is this Sheffield band’s debut album and showcases their stripped back and noisy approach. This 180g vinyl LP (limited to 500) properly captures the group’s ferocious live shows and a distinctive sound that manages to be both melodic and abrasive at the same time.

  • LP £10.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / Repress 180g Blue splash vinyl LP on Evil Hoodoo / Milk Run Records.

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Into The Blue by Sievehead 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
16 people love this record. Be the 17th!

8/10 Staff review, 05 January 2016

Place your faith in Sievehead to deliver the psychedelic bits and bobs you cherish so dear. These riffs come crawling out of their songs like rats rushing through alleyways, appearing after long stretches of post-punk carry-on. This Sheffield band, strong in local hardcore lands and definitely worthy of the ruckus, have made ‘Into the Blue’ something of a fluid psych punk album, one that shreds with the best of them but constantly uses distantly echoing riffs as an aesthetic stamp -- psycho, billy?

With the gulping vocal gloom of new Ceremony on top of Total Control, you’d expect ‘Into the Blue’ to be a self-serious post-punk record touted on the strength of baritone alone. It’s deeper and sillier: songs like “Look Both Ways” are propulsive because of their speed and their ramshackle approach, not sticking too tightly to structure and instead diving into an oscillating riff, seeing it as prime opportunity for a wacky vocal harmony. At times it sounds ferocious; at others, it can almost sound like a three-albums in Strokes.

‘Into the Blue’, though, is most triumphant in structure, existing under a strangely well-arranged template in which songs are given ample distance from each-other while being sequenced into narrative. “Hoax” moves from a woozy intro,reminiscent of the closer from ‘Rohnert Park’, into its blustery songlife. “Try the Mirror” surfs along a patient bassline and plays with creaking, palm-muted noises before its guitars come in for commotion. This is more than just hearing Sievehead work their way through a bunch of songs: there’s an atmosphere carrying us through ‘Into the Blue’, and atmosphere is nice when it doesn’t give you the bends.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.