Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Melt Yourself Down are soon to return with a second album of their frenzied fiery free-afro-jazz-punk. Dot To Dot, the first single, makes a compelling preview, Kushal Gaya holding forth authoritatively over an unbeatable groove. The track is backed by a fresh-flipping remix by DJ Khalab. 12” in an edition of 500, on The Leaf Label.

  • 12" £2.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 30 ?
  • DOCK62 / CHEAP! Limited 12" on The Leaf Label inc. DJ Khalab Remix. Edition of 500 copies

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Dot To Dot by Melt Yourself Down 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

7/10 Staff review, 14 January 2016

It’s the pre-party for the afterparty! It’s been a minute since we were graced with Melt Yourself Down’s first tight jazz-funk party, but they now return with the first single from their new (as of yet speculative) album. Peter Wareham sounds like he’s in a good mood, bursting into a sax jam as and when. So does Zun Zun Egui’s Kushal Gaya, whose vocals amount to excitedly blurting out a secret between the smoother moves of an ever-weaving rhythm section. It’s a Melt Yourself Down classic: that feeling of chaos and catharsis, of total joy, within a narrow corridor. Best of all is how “Dot To Dot” builds its momentum, rolling through little percussive additives, warped versions of melodies and Leafcutter John’s electronic polish.

Flip the record and you’re treated to a remix from hero DJ Khalab, who gives the song a swampier, busier take, isolating Gaya’s vocal and adding in toy percussion sounds, oscillating synth bits, random samples and whistles to give us the feeling of dancing to a jazz band in the middle of a frantic 100m sprint. There’s DJ Khalab, he’s your running coach, and here you go, you’re approaching the next hurdle, so jump and let the drums guide you to the finish line. Get the fuck on with it.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.