Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Second album from Me and My Kites, a flighty collection of songs that breeze past the listener so laden with summer that you could catch hayfever. Is It Real Or Is It Made? was recorded in Norway, and there is, from time to time, an audibly Scandinavian touch to the vocals. LP released by Porcelain Records.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £13.49
  • Pre-order: ships when released ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 135 ?
  • PORCE005LP / Reissue LP on Sound Effect Records

Pre-order. Due in on 3rd August 2018 but delays are possible.


Is it Real or is it Made? by Me and My Kites
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 03 December 2015
A couple of years ago Me and My Kites released an album where on the sleeve they ran naked into a pond. Luckily for all fans of twisty Canterbury-esque folk they have emerged unscathed from the water with this album of infectious melodic folk pop.   Even the most ardently anti-prog part of my brain can’t help but fall in live with opener ‘Psyjuntan’ which is like a hippy-fied take on Broadcast with elements of Kate Bush, Mew, Caravan and despite containing flutes is the sort of song you might turn off if anyone walked into the room but would sneak on later with the headphones safely clasped to your head. There are lots of flutes and progressive chord changes and your enjoyment will certainly depend on your tolerance for such things. The Cardiacs and William D Drake are never far away from my thoughts whilst listening but it’s way more retro looking with some heavy, heavy Jethro Tull influences. They can write the odd decent song between the folky clatter though ‘Hide away’ is a rather affecting ballad that sounds like the sort of ’70’s ballads Harry Nilsson used to pen…..but with flute.    Forget art, let's prog. 


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.