Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

Napoleon Cherry originally private-pressed the material presented on Walk Alone in the 80’s and 90’s, his outsider electro-funk’n’soul apparently not ordinary enough for the mainstream labels. Shame, as this compilation reveals a compelling swing at the heart of his work. LP on Music From Memory.

  • LP £15.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • MFM 007
  • MFM 007 / LP on Music From Memory

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Napoleon Cherry - Walk Alone - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Walk Alone by Napoleon Cherry
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

9/10 Professor Mouah Customer review, 13th November 2015

The excitment and mystery surrounding Mr Cherry has been building for some time now and this compilation does not dissapoint. The first time I heard about his Cool Waters LP, from which several tracks on here are taken, the general view was 'this is awful but I can't stop listening to it'. Now the originals are trading hands for heavy sums (personally I think NC is still sitting on stock but that's another story). The DIY aesthetic combining elements from R&B, Modern Soul, Gospel and Smooth Jazz (no really) is uniquely compelling and the fact that he is finally getting some exposure after all these years is testament to the sharp ears of the guys from Music from Memory who continue to dive for pearls in the swamp of forgotten records. If you ever order a limo in the NY/Philly area and some of these tracks come on the stereo you might just be in the presence of the man himself.

One point deducted only because of the absence of Byard Lancaster but even so still a very fine overview and hopefully the start of great things to come. This is what the 90s should have sounded like and we all missed it.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.