Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Mute / CDSTUMM386 / STUMM386
  • Add Arca to your favourites
  • Add Mute to your favourites
1 review »

Second full-length from Venezuelan producer Arca. It would be fair to say that he is a ‘hot’ producer these days, given that he played a reasonable co-production role on Bjork’s Vulnicura album this year. Mutant has 20 tracks of expansive electronics, including the remarkable ‘Vanity’ from earlier this year. On Mute.

  • Double LP £22.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 225 ?
  • STUMM386 / Limited red coloured vinyl, triple gatefold 2LP on Mute
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • CDSTUMM386 / CD on Mute

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Mutant by Arca
1 review. Add your own review.
31 people love this record. Be the 32nd!
9/10 Laurie Staff review, 19 November 2015

Arca is the man of the hour/year it seems. Having successfully helped Bjork make some captivating electronic weirdpop for her release earlier in the year and a lil stint with a certain Kanye West, he has now come through with another solo release, a year after the first. Prolific as well as lauded. Such praise can often overshadow the actual artform itself in a sort of media frenzy, or can cause artists to falter under the pressure, but the first two tracks have already passed and they have destroyed any possibility of that.

The Venezuelan has indeed made some mutants. On Mutant, we have the extreme side of Arca, featuring heavy, slicy synth tones, morphing noises on the edge of subtlety, and omnipresent melodics, all propped up by pristine and beautiful mixing that reminds me of OPN’s latest. Indeed, Lopatin and Alejandro Ghersi share the same penchant for emotive, almost epic melody heard through a digital maelstrom. Things get pretty rhythmically complex too, the stuttering, machine gun textures of title track ‘Mutant’ beaming messages to ‘Sinner’ about alien heartbeats - Raster Noton take note. Even the arrangements defy expectation, not succumbing to typical temptations such as ‘you must now keep this sound going into a constant tempo loop to be successful’. Nope. Caution, meet wind.

Gotta finish now, but wish I didn’t have to because this is long and amazing. It’s the sound of that person-thing on the cover, which Ian informs me that you can buy a figure of from somewhere. Not sure if I could handle that thing watching me eat breakfast but hey.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.