Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

Intermission is the new EP by Shigeto. The electronic musician from Detroit, aka Zach Saginaw, has been working on a veritable plethora of projects since his sophomore album No Better Time Than Now dropped in 2013. From adding his special blend of electronics to a jazz quartet to recording with rappers from his hometown. Currently he’s not sure where his musical journey will take him. Intermission is dynamic, diverse and exciting. It also serves as a transitional work between where he’s been and where he’s going..

  • 12" £8.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • GI257LP
  • GI257LP / 12" EP on Ghostly

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Shigeto - Intermission - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Intermission by Shigeto
1 review. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Li'l Biz Staff review, 27 October 2015

Shigeto (a.k.a Detroit's Zach Saginaw) has been a busy man of late filling his time with a bunch of unusual/fun projects while he muses on what to do next with his Shigeto guise. Which kinda explains away the title of his new EP for Ghostly Int. As he states in the press release, "I haven't found the next step for me yet. I've been making loads of music as always, but I'm still looking for that concrete new path." 

So here we get six tracks that have made the grade but don't quite coalesce enough to suggest a new path, i.e; a new full length record. I'm just glad we're getting a few new cuts as I thought "No Better Time Than Now" was a really strong outing but, of course, I've played it to death now.  

Shigeto cuts a mean sample and has a truly experimental approach to creating soundscapes with the press release proudly (and rightly) referring to his style as polyrhythmic. I'd like to think Saginaw has some experience as a drummer. If not, then his rhythms here are all the more impressive. Opener "Pulse" (up in the soundclips if you wanna listen) has a fantastic feel, very much in the vein of say Tortoise or Four Tet at his most ambitious, yet tonally he makes some strange choices that give this tune an additional lease of life, most notable his use of choral synths that give it a Débruit remixed by Oneohtrix feel. "City Dwellers" mashes elements of jazz fusion with some deep wobbling bass and SIDchip electronics to great effect. He even throws in a little Kalimba for the kids. "Gently" finishes the side and follows it's title's creed doggingly with a mix of spaced out voices and synth blurzz. It's a tiny chill.

Flip it and the thumb piano reappears on a what sounds like foot workout given the vaporwave treatment on "Do My Thing" which is followed by a genuine synth blurzz in the old school, pre-digital Oneohtrix vein (I know, that's two references to D. Lopatin - sue me) and is very much an interlude to precede "Need Nobody", the final outing on "Intermission" that ploughs into dark afro electro territory whilst again utilising his tried and tested palette of slowed up vocals, deep bass throbs, SIDchip synth tones and that always reliable thumb piano. Excellent stuff. 


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.