Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Cygnus drops four new pieces of funky electronics on the Sheffield-based label Central Processing Unit, one of the main outlets for his work so far (this is his fourth for them). Radical User Interfaces sets synths dancing a merry jig around clipped machine-funk rhythms. White vinyl, limited to 300 copies.

  • 12" £9.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CPU00011000
  • CPU00011000 / Limited white vinyl 12" EP on Central Processing Unit. Edition of 300 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Radical User Interfaces by Cygnus 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

7/10 Staff review, 08 October 2015

Have CPU put a bad record out yet? If so I’ve yet to hear one. They really are the kings of decent underground electronica and hopefully these records will one day be as loved and sought after as the early Warp and Skam releases.

Here, Cygnus releases his fourth record on the label with a 12” of crisp beats, glistening synths and memorable melodies. As with most underground dance 12”s I’m having a hard time discerning the A side from the B side so let’s start with what I think is the title track. This is a very neat slab of electronics starting with some squelchy pulsating synths, carefully added slick beats and lovely melodies plonked on top. A real treat for fans of the late ’90’s/early 2000’s explosion in electronica.

There’s a slight funk element to some of this  - particularly on ’Nexus Telecoms’ with some big fat 80’s synth. I think I’m bang on with my A side/B side decision. ‘Arcade Killers‘ is just that - a shimmering burst of after school arcade electronics. The closing ‘Electronic Slave' is the nearest it gets to Kraftwerk with big bold synths picking out a retro melody.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.