Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Rhino / 0825646089499
  • Add Gang of Four to your favourites
  • Add Rhino to your favourites
1 review | 12 people love this record: be the 13th!

Solid Gold was the second album by Leeds post-punk group Gang of Four. It was originally released in 1981. The band mixed politically charged lyrics with angular rock, funk and dub. Their sound became hugely influential on a number of british bands in the early 2000s such as Franz Ferdinand and Bloc Party. Solid Gold is reissued on 180g vinyl. Classic!

  • LP £15.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • 0825646089499 / 180g vinyl reissue LP on Rhino

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Solid Gold by Gang of Four
1 review. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!

9/10 Jack Customer review, 15th October 2015

Here, on Solid Gold, mixing punk, postpunk, funk, dance, and just a bit of free jazz, the Gang of Four wildly succeed in producing one of the 80s finest musical hours. The key to this record are probably the tight rhythms which the band produces. In fact, the bass lines here are anything but simple, whereas the guitar lines are effectively simple, and sharply rhythmic. This has some of this band's best, and best known, songs, including "What We All Want", "In The Ditch", "Outside The Trains Don't Run On Time", and "To Hell With Poverty".



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.