Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Florasongs is a new five-track EP by The Decemberists. All tracks are previously unreleased rare as hens teeth. They were written during the sessions for their seventh album What A Beautiful World, What A Terrible World. Florasongs is released on 10” vinyl only and is a must have for fans of the band.

  • 10" £7.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • RTRADST769
  • RTRADST769 / 10" EP on Rough Trade

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Florasongs by The Decemberists 2 reviews. Add your own review. 9/10
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!

7/10 Staff review, 07 October 2015

On their most recent full length, the people of December learned to self-validate, loving their brand of Portland-contingent indie folk for what it’s always been. Fair enough, I say: at this point, they occupy a singular place in the legend of indie rock, and they’ve never stopped sounding like their slightly proggy, mostly plaintive selves. As such, you barely need a review of EP ‘Florasongs’: it leans towards symphonies and strings, twang and heartthrobs, but it sounds much like it’s older sibling ‘What a Beautiful World’, an ode to the troubadours of yore

These five songs were cut earlier in the year, so their quality isn’t assured, but they speak to the same contented folk sound: on “Riverswim”, an accordion gently stretches out over brushed drums, twilit guitar riffs and a slow, measured vocal duet. Later, they burn barns with aplomb (“Fits & Starts”, which jambles around like the Men on their country punx hype of ‘Tomorrow’s Hits), waltz in empty rooms (the anxieties of “The Harrowed and the Haunted” echo gorgeously outward, Meloy’s voice escaping the walls as guitar fills their room), and go full unplugged (yes, “Stateside” is fine). Nice indie rock Americana, lowkey as it ever was. Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve gotta go listen to a thousand Okkervil River songs -- or as I call it, “Wednesday”.

10/10 Customer rating (no review), 18th October 2016



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.