Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Psychexcess II - Futurism is the second part of Frank Riggio’s musical trilogy about birth, life and death. It is a rich, colourful and dynamic work designed to play out like a movie tracking the lifecycle of a human being. Riggio mixes experimental soundscapes, ambient passages, throbbing dub and IDM.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • ¥414 / 2LP + mini poster on Hymen
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £10.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • ¥834
  • ¥834 / Digipak CD + mini poster on Hymen

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Psychexcess II - Futurism by Frank Riggio
1 review. Add your own review.
10 people love this record. Be the 11th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 24 September 2015

This album is the first music I’ve heard from Frank Riggio. Actually it’s the first I’ve heard that this artist even exists at all - which is amazing to me, as if his previous work is anything like ‘Psychexcess II - Futurism’ then that’s an absolute crime. Judging by this album alone it would appear he’s an extremely talented electronic music producer who certainly deserves wider recognition for his work. Hopefully this review can contribute in some small way in rectifying that.

The album is the second part of a trilogy, about birth, life and death. The previous volume released on Hymen in 2012. There’s so much happening on this record it’s difficult to know where to begin. ‘Echap’ opens proceeding with luxurious deep and dirty bass booming within a sort of fractured hip-hop template with ethereal f/x laden vocals, gorgeous strings, guitar, melodica and ticking percussion. ‘Futurism’ creeps along like droids getting dubwise in a chrome echo chamber, building with dramatic strings and tons of detailed sounds. ‘Meaning Of Meaning’ reminds me a little of late period Coil while ‘Aqka Torr’ has Pan Sonic strength technoid bass laying under what sounds like some kind of Eastern European arcane folk stringed instrument, adding an organic layer to the electronics and making appearances on several tracks. ‘TTTT’ is something like Vitalic meets Mr Oizo but better than that sounds on paper. The wordless vocals scattered throughout add an extra dimension; a more human element that really compliments the electronics. As heard on ‘Skahizgon’ for example. ‘Ridzo (From Dust To Dust)’ and ‘Looking For Occultism I’ are bass heavy updates on classic electronica templates that are equally enjoyable for home listening as they are suited to the fringes of the dancefloor. As the sound of closer ‘Deathobsess’ slowly builds and fills the room it reaches a sweeping climax of haunting vocal drones sounding like a soul being sucked out of a body into the afterlife.

Throughout, the production is immaculate, the sound palate fresh, and overall I’d say this is a strikingly original piece of work from an artist that balances “experimental” well executed sound design with an accessible approach to arrangement and melody that sometimes collides with controlled noise. There are 19 tracks which in itself feels sprawling. Add to that the previous and forthcoming volumes and we’ll have a pretty epic trilogy.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.