Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

On Meta, Richard Garet makes background noise the focus of our attention - sounds that are derived from our day-to-day experiences, sounds that we wouldn’t particularly notice if it wasn’t for Meta. The hour-long piece on this CD is based on a more complex quadrophonic interactive installation. Limited to 400 copies.

  • CD £10.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • LINE_072
  • LINE_072 / CD on LINE. Edition of 400 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Richard Garet - Meta - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • Meta by Richard Garet


Meta by Richard Garet
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
7/10 Jim Staff review, 30 August 2015

You can always count on Richard Chartier’s label, Line to introduce us to new levels of subtlety in ambient minimalism. This disc by Uruguay-born, New York-based multimedia artist, Richard Garet is based on an installation in which background noise is brought to the fore; lifting previously present but unconscious sounds into our active awareness. What we get on the disc is an hour-long journey through alien textures, radioactive static clicks, humming and buzzing of many kinds and intricate sonic patterning at all thresholds of the audible spectrum. It’s the kind of music that sounds like it could have been beamed to Earth from a remote intelligence in a distant solar system, but is actually being made by mundane domestic appliances like the microwave oven, fridge-freezer and mobile phone.

Part of the thrill of this kind of music is the insectoid, alien quality of these sounds that we’ve heard before but probably not really paid much attention to them. Garet seems to structure and arrange the sounds too so that there appears to be an ebb and flow of intensity with stark, desolate passages building into periods of furiously teeming activity. This is most definitely a challenging, but engrossing listen, with some of the most punishing high frequency sine-wave surfing I’ve heard since I last checked out Sachiko M and Toshimaru Nakamura’s sound-mixer feedback jams.      


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.