Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

Miminokoto are a trio with some serious pedigree, bringing together members of Acid Mothers Temple, Astral Travelling Unity and Che-SIZU for a blasted sounding psych-rock trip. These guys know how to do it. Otomejima No Otome is pressed to some very fetching 180g pink and white swirl vinyl, on the Blackest Rainbow label.

  • LP £15.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-28 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • BRR302 / 180g pink and white swirl vinyl LP on Blackest Rainbow. Edition of 250 copies
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-28 days but delays are possible.


Otomejima No Otome by Miminokoto
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 21 September 2015

On this day of madness I’ll welcome psych rock into my arms, and Miminokoto are the firmest psychedelic hug one can receive. A gathering of members from the earthless Acid Mothers Temple, the little-known but self-explanatory droners Astral Travelling Unit and Che-SIZU, this band are primed for swirling riffage, tightly-wound rhythms and a general feeling of getting lost in a sea of bath salts. Listen in on the record’s opening jam, though, and you’ll find something else: amongst the screeching solos is a striking, tangible guitar melody, balanced with intimately captured vocals that suggest these guys might actually be chilling in your house right now. They will turn the heating up if you ask them to.

Things swing back and forth between genuine surprises and a slightly more sonorous psychedelia as the record goes on. The band double up on their love of old-skool solos and long, droning rock figures on “Neko-chan”, which suggests Boris on one of their slower rock ‘n’ roll burn-outs; straight afterwards, though, the band sit back and balladeer for “Aki-san 2”, noodling a quiet bassline over lazily slathered chords and a sighing vocal.

It’s when Miminokoto sound like they’re closing in on last rounds after a low-key night’s drinking that I like them best: “Sakata-san” is a down-tempo psych waltz, given strange, whistling affectations but ultimately made nice by its quiet, rested chords and its twilit jazz drums. It’s cosy, this record; I think I’ll stay here.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.