Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Nicole Schneit's Air Waves project returns with a second album drawing on an array of Brooklynite talent including  friends from Hospitality, Ava Luna, Woods and Crystal Stilts alongside Jana Hunter (Lower Dens). Schneit's songs remain thoughtful meditations on interpersonal relations while her gently rocking soundworld is enriched by the contributions of her comrades.

  • LP £15.99 £9.59
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 96 ?
  • WEST137LP / LP on Western Vinyl
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • WEST137CD / CD on Western Vinyl

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Parting Glances by Air Waves 1 review. Add your own review. 6/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

6/10 Staff review, 16 September 2015

Nicole Schneit’s has her own paradise away from the jangle lovers Crystal Stilts, and believe you me it is different: Air Waves’ music is clearer and more contemporary than the usual nostalgia her psych friends purvey, offering plaintive solutions to pop music. Acoustic ditties get turned into torch songs (take the slowly rising “Lines”, which echoes Van Etten’s “All I Can” in starting from nothing to become an unexpected epic) and the production ensures you hear every pick and fret brush (the eagle-eyed ballad that is “Milky Way”). For those who love Trespassers’ William but want the melancholy to come with a little bit of positive reinforcement, this is yours.

Schneit is joined by an all-star rawk cast on this record, bringing in a full rock band plus work from members of Woods, Ava Luna and Hospitality: basically, art rock, psych and twee are this week’s threat to national security, which is a lot to take in at once. Schneit keeps the focus on her songs, though, rarely veering off in any direction that isn’t her delicately minded but industrial-strength indie rock. The brash chords that open “Milky Way” are soon course-corrected by a sweet-laced synth and a compelling vocal melody, which are dramatised with a harmony but faded before we reach too intense a climax. Which is to say: this isn’t big pop music, just slightly catchy and contentedly rocking: never has someone said “hey baby, we’re gonna fuck around” as mild-mannered as Schneit does on “Sweet Talk”.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.