Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Beach Baby are an indie pop four-piece from Dorset and Athens who met at Goldsmiths College in London. Limited to 300 copies, their latest single release 'No Mind No Money' is part of a Chess Club records 7''series which included their debut March release 'Ladybird'. Their music comprises elements of shoegaze, post punk, indie pop and late nineties grunge into a coherent, catchy package.

  • 7" £4.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CC073
  • CC073 / 7" on Chess Club

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



No Mind No Money (single) by Beach Baby 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

7/10 Staff review, 04 August 2015

We were given a beach ball as an office gift today, so it seems more than appropriate that we listen to a shiny new 7” by Beach Baby. Making music in the overwhelmingly ubiquitous genre of jangly indie pop, you probably know enough about their sound already: with a voice as bright and assured as Mac Demarco’s and guitars as sleekly toned as a bank’s On Hold music, this is bound to chill you into nothingness.

To their credit, Beach Baby are a fine band, even if they don’t spark original thought. “No Mind No Money” subtly transfigures its verses into choruses with a glorious bit of guitar riffing, threading a needle between different solos and string bends. The groove is impenetrable and the band do well to peel back parts of the song for dramatic effect, restraining the guitar to let it unwind harder. “U R” follows suit: it’s a tight, compacted pop song that sounds like sunshine, but I’m drawn to the little details of “No Mind” more -- it manages to combine harmonies, guitar showmanship and blaring synths into a song that never once feels busy. Good stuff. 



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.