Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Ocean Beach is the Red House Painters record that most resembles a Mark Kozelek solo record, predicting his future career a lone guitarist in Sun Kil Moon. It's personal but not in that annoyingly straight-forward way that accompanies his newest, most awful releases, instead showing the slower, more measured songwriting that made his earliest albums so beautiful. Slowcore meets folk rock and this reissue comes with the Shock Me EP too.

  • Double LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • CAD3411 / 180 gram vinyl reissue 2LP on 4AD
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Ocean Beach by Red House Painters 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
9 people love this record. Be the 10th!

8/10 Customer review, 20th July 2015

“Ocean Beach” is cleaner and crisper than any of the three albums that preceded it. Generally the music is a bit perkier than the truly slowcore material on earlier recordings. It’s full of good stuff, but the stand out moment is the brilliant “San Geronimo” which is worth the admission price alone. This reissue was expanded to include the “Shock Me EP” which features two versions of the Kiss classic. It may be a joke cover version, I’m not sure, but Mark Kozelek does a great job on it.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.