Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Higamos Hogamos jam out a music deeply informed by various forms of music devoted to putting people in a trance: early krautrock rhythms underpin garage rock guitars while synthesizers arpeggiate into infinity. The Fuzzy Majesty EP is limited to only 300 copies, and is released on the Invisible Inc label.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 12" £8.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • INVINC02
  • INVINC02 / Limited 12" on Invisible, Inc. Edition of 300 copies.

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Fuzzy Majesty EP by Higamos Hogamos
1 review. Add your own review.
25 people love this record. Be the 26th!
7/10 Robin Staff review, 04 September 2015

In a shocking development, Higamos Hogamos is actually not the name of a Selling England By The Pound-era Genesis song, and actually belongs to some sort of grooving psych band dead set on pushing the world’s most hypnotic genre onto an old-school disco floor. “Inwards Empire” opens up their new, warmly fuzzed EP with a slick, inviting bassline and some excited acoustic percussion, and the ceremonial ribbon is cut with the usual: phased guitars, Krautedelic synths and plenty of avant-rock nonsense. If ever a band sounded like Can wearing sunglasses, it was this one.

As the record unfurls, things get underpinned with snarky vocals and a Krautrock classicism that’ll please many a traditionalist -- the flatlining synth melody and robotic but plenty-filled drums of “My Travel” should do it for anyone who likes their psych straightforward and with a couple of hooks. “Lionhead”, on the other hand, takes on a propulsive, almost new wave rhythm and places it among plenty of reverb, making a pop song wobble ‘til it seems to be slowly echoing throughout the whole universe. That’s how you do it.

Flip it over and it kinda feels like there’s a whole different record spinning into life, with the sharp string sounds of “Dendron” combining with a riff that’s not dissimilar to the Led’s “Kashmir”. As if snapping out of a sudden moment’s nonsense, they throw back to their psych rawk ways on “Cold 100” and close on the ascendent, proggy bluster of the record’s title track. It’s versatile, it’s silly, and it’s about ten different homages at once. Dig it, would you?


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.