Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

John ‘Thee Oh Sees’ Dwyer’s Castle Face label puts out this new album from Creeping Pink, a great slice of oddity that hazes all over the place. Sonic elements include piano, organ, guitar, and a whole lot of unidentifiable stuff that gives Mirror Woods an excellently strong sense of character.

  • LP £19.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-28 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 200 ?
  • CF053 / LP on Castle Face
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-28 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £12.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CF053CD
  • CF053CD / CD on Castle Face

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Mirror Woods by Creeping Pink 1 review. Add your own review. 6/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

6/10 Staff review, 23 July 2015

Described by label boss John Dwyer as a cross between Silver Apples, Arthur Russell and Vangelis, Creeping Pink are initially a more difficult proposition than that might suggest. Please take care though -- don’t play at the wrong speed like I did for the first five minutes. This is 45rpm and proud.

‘Come Into My World’ features fizzy synths and oddball vocals repeating the same phrase ‘tomorrow’ ad nauseum. Even at 45rpm ‘Sour Fruit’ sounds pitched down, with basic drum machine clattering along to a bontempi organ. It takes until 'Peaches' before Dwyers words start to ring partly true. The discordant and rusting synth pop does indeed recall that of Silver Apples but Creeping Pink lack their truly other worldly feel. Elsewhere ‘Bacavan Blues’ is no more sonicly adventurous than any early Daniel Johnston effort. Things pick up a bit overleaf with ‘Mirror Woods’ one of the stronger tracks here with some clattery drums which energise the track. There’s not really much else going on bar synths and drums.

This sort of lo-fi wooze is starting to get a bit tiresome especially when it’s not matched by stellar songs. Still these analogue synth efforts kind of recall some kind of mid point between Elephant 6 style whimsy and Ghostbox retro-futurism.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.