Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Moon Ate The Dark are bring together melodic piano / violin and electronics: sometimes the electronics lightly tinge the acoustic instruments, sometimes the piano will be only a small corner of an electro-acoustic drone. II is, funnily enough, their second record, and comes packaged in the style of a book. On Sonic Pieces.

  • CD £13.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • p 022-cd
  • p 022-cd / Limited CD on Sonic Pieces. Edition of 450 copies in book style cover

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • II by Moon Ate The Dark


II by Moon Ate The Dark 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

9/10 Staff review, 03 July 2015

Following on from Jasmine Guffond’s Yellow Bell, the drones of which lulled Robin towards the edge of comprehension, Sonic Pieces release a record of stately piano and steady strings snuggling up to the warm but unpredictable body of electronics.

II, an album by a group of people called Moon Ate the Dark, is the logical follow up to I because of numbers. The record lies at the intersection of the acoustic and electronic worlds, presenting you with a familiar tender instrumental line, which, with varying degrees of subtlety, takes on a new identity through electronic manipulation. The overall tone is fragile and nostalgic, with harmony similar to the nicer side of the post-rock of yore, but with adventurous instrumentation and excellent textural command. It’s a bit Philip Glass, a bit Ryan Teague and a bit deep drone near the end. ‘Sleepy Vipers’ is a wonderful excursion into eviscerated pianos, segueing to some beautiful slithering string action later on.

This is a treat. There’s also an LP version with both 2 albums on, presented in Sonic Pieces’ loverly fabric jacket, if that takes your fancy.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.