Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 9 people love this record: be the 10th!

Released on the 8th of June on fledgeling independent label Hard Up (HU002), ‘Sucker’ is the self produced 12’’ debut single release from London based quartet The Big Moon. B side ‘Eureka Moment’ is a clash of angular guitar based pop with erratic, almost folky rock sensibilities.

  • 12" £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • HU002
  • HU002 / Limited etched 12" on Hard Up. Edition of 300 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for The Big Moon - Sucker / Eureka Moment - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Sucker / Eureka Moment by The Big Moon
1 review. Add your own review.
9 people love this record. Be the 10th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 17 June 2015

Here is an indie rock quartet trying some things out with a whole 12” of songs. There are in fact just two songs, but they are rather good: on “Sucker”, the band giftwrap pretty melodies and then tear them apart with a heavy dosage of fuzz and a firm, overloud drumbeat. How rude of them. The Big Moon use leftfield tricks to maintain a conventional indie rock stomp, utilising processed handclaps and a variety of guitar tones that usher in little scene changes. The choruses have a simple hook with a friendly harmony and it all breaks down into a twinkly, twee refrain -- from which the band launch back into their distorted bloodletting.

On the theoretical but not actual flipside we get “Eureka Moment”, a rip-roaring tune with a scattershot rhythm and a lovely fluttering of the frets; floating towards us on a misely opening riff, things continue under the Big Moon’s ever-so-cheeky guise: the chords are strummed steadily, and then with pantomimic gall, while lyrics reciprocate with a complete lack of parity and sincerity (claims of being “the voice of your generation” are exaggerated). It’s a song of melodic oscillations and it has the slickness of early Arctic Monkeys encoded into its DNA. It’s not single bait like “Sucker”, but it’s probably more fun. These songs are good for when you're feeling sad but not sad at all.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.