Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Following their acclaimed, 2014 Deathwish debut, ‘Nothing For Us Here’, Salt Lake City’s Cult Leader are back with a three track sonic assault. The two original tracks ‘Useless Animal’ and ‘Gutter Gods’ are a monolithic barrage of distortion and heavy riffs while the B side, is a respectful cover of the Mark Kozelek & Desertshore number ‘You Are Not My Blood’.

  • 7" £6.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • DW1807
  • DW1807 / Coloured vinyl 7" on Deathwish Inc.
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Useless Animal by Cult Leader 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

7/10 Staff review, 15 July 2015

I’m going to start with the B side and not just because I can’t work the signs on the label out. It’s an amazingly intense trudge through Mark Kozelek and Desertshore's ‘You Are Not My Blood’. It gradually builds in intensity throughout and recalls some of Swans' more terrifying work, but also flies the slow-core flag with pride. Sludgy metal at it’s best.

Overleaf are two tracks that Robin could probably explain better than me. ‘Useless Animal’ is hardcore thrash metal grindcore like Napalm Death, Electro Hippies or whatever. There appears to be another song in there too, ‘Gutter Gods’, but I appear to have missed it.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.