Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 12 people love this record: be the 13th!

Say what you please, Fist City is a great and ridiculous name for a band. Turns out they make music that is aggressive and loud, but in the way that indie bands are aggressive, which is to say with yelped vocals and fuzzed guitars. Everything Is A Mess is pleasingly messy, and quite a lot of fun: check out ‘Fuck Cops’ if you get the chance. On Transgressive Records.

  • LP £16.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • TRANS196X
  • TRANS196X / LP on Transgressive
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • TRANS196
  • TRANS196 / CD on Transgressive

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Fist City - Everything Is a Mess - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Everything Is a Mess by Fist City
1 review. Add your own review.
12 people love this record. Be the 13th!
7/10 Robin Staff review, 16 June 2015

Fist City is their name and they have punched our CD player to its point of breaking today. A year back they released ‘It’s 1983, Grow Up’ and lo, it was good, a smattering of that punk lite goodness shot through a lens of Fucked Up chords and Buzzcocks cheek. Listening to ‘Everything Is a Mess’, I’ll add to the list a bit of Husker Du spit and the yelped menace of Warm Widow. Whatever, though: small bouts of hatred and some hooks equals lots of good.

Seventeen tracks here, and far be it from a rip-roaring punx affair with nothing else to show for it (which is fine, no fake), ‘Everything is a Mess’ goes through a very bizarre narrative, weaving together sinewy ambient interludes, psych-homage joshin’ (“Surf’s Up”, if you’re wondering) and a bit of noise. Between the bouts of experimentation, Fist City are filled with the ire and justified snarl that they’ve previously served under: “Fuck Cops”, they say, while “Bad Trip” rips through tense, scratchy choruses. “Rat’s” sounds like Fucked Up with a more breathless frontman, its scarred chords serving as a nice backdrop to occasionally dip into with indecipherable yells.

It’s not quite hardcore, it’s too indie to be pop-punk, but it is catchy and dude occasionally screams, so there you have it. A riff is nice, when you can hear it peaking out of the scuzz, and when the band break down the foundations on “The Smell Dirty”, you can hear each of them at work. And as always, Fist City’s sense of humour is admirable: they sequence two songs called “Interlude” one after the other, which is not a thing that makes logical sense. Good.


FIST CITY - Everything is a Mess Promo Video - YouTube


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.