Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Deep Distance /
  • Add XAM to your favourites
  • Add Deep Distance to your favourites
1 review | 16 people love this record: be the 17th!

12” vinyl on Deep Distance, limited to 500 copies. Matthew Benn of Hookworms releases his debut solo record, and it’s a krautrock infused electronica dreamworld. You can see all of his input in Hookworms in this record, just replace the walls of guitar with Kraftwerk-ian synthesis. For fans of Harmonia and all things Berlin School.

  • 12" £7.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / Matthew Benn's new Hookworms side project - Limited 12" EP on Deep Distance. Edition of 500 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for XAM - Tone Systems - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Tone Systems by XAM
1 review. Add your own review.
16 people love this record. Be the 17th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 09 June 2015

First, a review in bodily functions: as I spin ‘Tone Systems’ my head has been moving in the way a head moves when it dances -- horizontally from left to right, front to back, or whatever way is your particular head’s content. For a record of well calibrated Krautrock subtleties, there’s something intuitive about this record, something that makes a lot of dancing happen on the sly. I need to get out of this chair.

XAM is the solo project of Matt Benn, one Hookworm, whose move to this kind of generative and rigid electronica is not too surprising, given the well-patterned psychedelia of his band. Comprised of three longforms, he stretches out warm tones and lets generous beats synchronise with the gliding atmosphere. Think Jonas Munk’s polished ambient tunes given Harmonia’s meandering but maintained drum machines and you’ve got “Werk & Play”, which does just as its title tells it to: it’s mechanical but wide-eyed.

“Coke Float”, which is easily the best named song of all time no contest (to quote JME, don't @ me), goes a bit harder, shuffling in with a grittier beat that skitters over a forever kind of melody. The tune’s simplicity doesn’t stop it from being big on the detail, with effects pouring in, creating the feeling of crickets chirping on the moon. Finally we’re left with “Lifer”, whose patiently growling drone becomes both transcendent and loopy, climaxing with the twinkliest of synth sounds, content to wander forever beatless. You’ve had a dance -- now be raptured to a place where dancing is sleeping.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.