Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 8 people love this record: be the 9th!

In the tradition of producer Dan Carey’s 7’’ label Speedy Wunderground, this 7’’ release from enigmatic Swedish/American four piece Fews was recorded in a day, mixed within twenty-four hours and mastered immediately afterwards. A track in two parts, the composition builds upon searing guitars and slowly emerging vocals into a wash of disorientating, climatic noise.

  • 7" £7.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • SW012
  • SW012 / Limited 7" on Speedy Wunderground

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for FEWS - ILL - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



1 review. Add your own review.
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 17 June 2015

It’s motorik meets komische at the Krautrock supermarket in Fews’ ‘Ill’, a track stretched across two sides of 7” for an oscillating, trembling, always rocking night drive with just one service station pit stop. As far as psych rock goes, this is the stuff of blockbusters, shredding towards a climax while maintaining strict volume and rhythm. More than anything, this track -- which absorbs dissonance as an affectation, muted chords as pacesetters and drums as gatekeepers -- recalls the Men on ‘Tomorrow’s Hits’, somehow making their sound feel totally ramshackle at its most tethered and micro-managed. ‘Ill’ feels like it could fall apart at any moment, and that’s its brilliance: we’re left waiting for what we think is an inevitable collapse, and it never comes.

The closest we come is the crushing cadence, which separates part one from the onset of part two (sick logic, Fews dudes), a track with a harsher circular riff that eventually gives way to some vacuum cleaner noises, a firmly gripping bassline and what sound like vocals, furiously repressed by distortion. It’s hard to tell, but it adds to the feeling of constant renewal this song carries. ‘Ill’ is so full of different nuggets of sound, each rubbing up against a tight as fuck song structure. Breathe it in, my friends.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.