Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

White 12” vinyl on iDeal. First in a series of compilations from iDeal, showcasing their particularly disturbing brand of harsh experimental music. Features Altar of Flies, Peder Mannerfelt. Frederikke Hoffmeier’s 3rd Monologue is one of the most unsettling tracks I’ve heard in a while. For fans of Nate Young et al.  Limited edition of 300 copies.

  • LP £11.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • IDEAL123
  • IDEAL123 / Limited white vinyl LP on iDEAL Recordings. Edition of 300 copies. Including Altar of Flies, RM, Peder Mannerfelt and Frederikke Hoffmeier

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Various - iDEALISM Volume One - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



iDEALISM Volume One by Various
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
7/10 Laurie Staff review, 07 May 2015

iDEAL Recordings, despite the name, may not be for everyone. Their extensive discography includes the likes of Russell Haswell, Merzbow and O’Malley, so it’s fairly clear which direction a compilation release will take. Looking to recruit you to their cult, they’ve called it ‘iDEALISM’, as if all those happy-go-lucky Beach Boys fans will just drop Wilson’s sweet harmonies and start noising out.

This is noisy. The first track is “for Magnetic Tape & Modular Synthesizer”, a combination of media that people have yet to beautify. So yeah, there’s a lot of hesitant industrial clanks that build to a rasping drone, which is actually more cohesive than a lot of modular music honking about these days. Nice one Altar of Flies. Luckily iDEAL aren’t confined to beatlessness, answering the previous with RM, who provides a distorted techno respite, if such a thing exists here. The raucous grind continues with Peder Mannerfelt’s contributions, synths snarling into filth boxes until truly gnarled, initially holding a beat but the second one ‘Cone of Confusion’ is just one pissed off drone. Frederikke Hoffmeier finishes it all off with some musique concrete collage of withered voices and machinery, but doesn’t quite live up to Mannerfelt’s grumble.

iDEALISM 1 is much less wandering than I was expecting, but the bits that DO wander stand out too much.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.