Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Limited 10” on Kasm. Mark Broom and James Ruskin, are individually renowned on the techno scene, and they come together under their no frills techno moniker The Fear Ratio. Alongside their debut album on Skam in May, they are featured on Skam’s new 10” series label Kasm. Limited edition runs of 300 copies.

  • 10" £8.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 85 ?
  • KASM01 / Limited 10" on Kasm (Mark Broom & James Ruskin). Edition of 300 copies
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Kasm01 by The Fear Ratio 2 reviews. Add your own review. 9/10
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!

8/10 Staff review, 24 April 2015

I don’t think Mark Broom & James Ruskin need any introduction at this point, the weight of their collaboration speaking for itself. This is a slightly more lightweight release - a techno 10 inch?? - in the lead up to their album coming out on Skam. Kasm is their slightly shrunken 10” offshoot, so expect more stunted beasts.

Over to you, dudes. The tunes present here feature many a warped synth line that’s sort of halfway between being a perc line and raw detritus. There’s not a straight beat in sight on this, despite the uptempo A side with its rolling kicks and spitting hats, great techno that would make Robert Hood lose his shit and mosh out. Maybe. I don’t know the guy.

Both sides feature a nice airy gloom in the form of reverb ghouls and distant drifty melodies, which works especially well on the more laid back IDM vibe on the B, with a nice panoramic bass stab to top it all off. There’s also some interesting sample-collage at the end of the first side, always a bonus from these skilled technerds. Bring on the album.

9/10 Customer review, 25th April 2015

A real focus and change in direction for these two artists. Not the house-based sound of their previous 12" releases, this fits on Skam Records indeed. Aimed at the 10" collector's market, this new sub label's first release is a stormer. Stilted opening beats let the listener know in advance they are in for a treat. Very polished production here. Track 2 sounds like it was inspired by Clark's Superscope single from last year. A very good taster for what will undoubtedly be a great album. I'd also recommend their lat album if this peaks your curiosity.




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.