Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Charles Cohen, he of the Buchla Music Easal synthesiser, has been anthologised and reissued a lot recently, but Brother I Prove You Wrong is brand new material, stretching its pointillistic bleep / bloop patterns across nine tracks. Explorative and inward-looking electronic wonder. Vinyl release from the Morphine label.

  • LP £19.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • DOSER026
  • DOSER026 / LP on Morphine

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Brother I Prove You Wrong by Charles Cohen 1 review. Add your own review. 7/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

7/10 Staff review, 11 June 2015

Charles Cohen is another of those forgotten synth dudes and dudettes with a mountain of tapes in an archive that chronicles their vision of the birds and the bleeps. Cohen has been using the Buchla Music Easel for god knows how long, a synth highly coveted for making weird abstract patchworks and flaunted recently by the likes of Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith and Dan Snaith. Does your choice of synthesiser define your sound? A large portion, probably. But after 40 years of using just one, those disparate boundaries of possibility would feel like home - total technological command.

Cohen has written music for theatre, been into cosmic jazz stuff and had his music remixed into rave anthems in the '90s, giving him a diverse and personal place near the likes of Laurie Spiegel, with solo works that take the cosmic theatre vibes and combines them into minimal pieces of lush repetition and dissonant swells reminiscent of Morton Subotnick. The oscillator’s tone is indeed rich and delicious, thick and imprecise. Meditation synth movements for the psychic traveller.

One thought that can’t help but cross my mind is that this guy should collab. While these are nice and will get fans of synth music drooling at the tones, his synth design playing off someone else’s composition would be amazing, especially some kind of krauty techno hybrid. Please make an album with Spiegel. Please.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.