Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 11 people love this record: be the 12th!

Electronic pioneer Prefuse 73 is back in a big, bold and brash way with Forsyth Gardens. Presumably not an ode to Bruce and his topiary, this multi-faceted album sounds ultra-modern in its kaleidoscopic scope. Young fans of Flying Lotus would be wise to take note of one of the masters. Out on vinyl LP from Temporary Residence.

  • LP £17.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 175 ?
  • TRR210LP / Limited indies only LP on Temporary Residence
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Forsyth Gardens by Prefuse 73
1 review. Add your own review.
11 people love this record. Be the 12th!
8/10 Laurie Staff review, 01 May 2015

Guillermo Scott Herren, as a lot of you will know, is one of the beatmakers that pushed (mostly) instrumental hip-hop into glitchier, more complex territory, his sound setting the stage for the likes of Flying Lotus and Gold Panda. It’s a rich and detailed world, constantly shifting and rising to panoramic synth flurries, buried and morphed alien vocals and fragmented percussion over an infectious groove.

For the leadup to returning LP Rivington Nao Rio, Prefuse brings a couple of reworks of the upcoming material to your ears as well as a small multitude of new things. There’s no way up for this guy and this EP is living proof, with diverse sound sources melting and folding into tracks that never sound stale or contrived. ‘Ages Upon Ages Upon You’ cycles through jazzy synth throbs and pitched vocal choirs, leading to an emotional end to the odyssey while the remix of ‘Infrared’ chills things right down laying a soft bed for Sam Dew’s honest vocal layers, at times chopped into a whirlwind. It’s at this point that the slightly pale Bonobo record The North Borders comes into view - a diluted version of this man’s work with the tempo bumped. Also Pretty Lights, I’m looking at you too.

The record climaxes at ‘What They Got?’, a syrupy slow groover with glassy textures, floppy bitty beats and those jazzy chords that are embedded in most tracks on this EP - homogeneity is ok when everything is amazing.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.