Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

‘The Song-Crowned King’ is the new six track, mini-album from Newcastle based, Anglo/American folk duo Cath & Phil Tyler who bring their varied influences from Appalachian mountain music to Traditional British folk together to create a dreamlike world that is all their own. The album was recorded in Newcastle by producer Phil Begg.

  • CD £5.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 60 ?
  • / 6-track mini album on Ferric Mordant
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


The Song-Crowned King by Cath & Phil Tyler
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 25 March 2015

You’d think that they would have emerged from some dusty American one horse town but they actually reside in Newcastle Upon Tyne…. which has its fair share of horses if you look hard enough on the town moor (and there’s plenty of donkeys on the field of St James Park). But enough about equines, Cath and Phil Tyler play authentic country folk which is slow and lonesome and Carter Family - ish (‘Bonnie George Campbell’), full of blazing fiddles ‘Boys the Buzzards are Flying’ and bleak beyond belief (‘‘Broad Is the Road That Leads to Death’). All songs are traditional so expect the kind of stuff you’d find on Harry Smith’s Anthology and the other dustbowl era folk recordings.     



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.