Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Drew Lustman aka ‘Falty DL’ takes on a new persona for this sharper, more economical release ‘The Crystal Cowboy’. Consisting of eleven tracks of musical rejuvenation, Lustman’s new material sees the artist flourish away from the conceptual pressures of his former alter ego. The result is an experiment in musical freedom through hardcore drum and bass with elements of funk and soul that bring an enticing, melodic depth to his sonic fantasyland.

  • Double LP £14.49 £8.69
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 87 ?
  • ZIQ361 / 2LP on Planet Mu aka FaltyDL
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £7.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • ZIQ361CD / CD on Planet Mu aka FaltyDL

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


The Crystal Cowboy by Drew Lustman
1 review. Add your own review.
24 people love this record. Be the 25th!
8/10 Laurie Staff review, 22 April 2015

With a cover consisting of a dusty apartment block and presumably Mr. Lustman sitting nonchalantly on top of a horse, you could easily assume that this is the electronic version of Father John Misty. New kooky alter ego, new sound and even some ‘doo-doo-doo’s, all signed to the Bella Union of beatz.

If that namedrop isn’t gonna catapult Lustman into the indie headlines then I don’t know what will, but the parallels end there. This is the man behind the influential FaltyDL project breaking the shackles of perhaps a fickle and trend-oriented scene, not content with routinely dropping 12” records that tug at various styles with barely a full examination of where he is at. And that happens to be a very interesting place indeed.

The Crystal Cowboy undoubtedly lives on Planet Mu, featuring a junglesque whirlwind of breaks but flexing on every track to allow in all sorts of foreign influence. Farage would have a thing or two to say about that eh? Obligatory election reference, it’s a big thing really. Dance-wise, it crosses over towards the techno of Scuba and the rude dub of Sherwood & Pinch’s recent collaboration, even edging into rave at points. But it’s what he weaves into this blank tapestry that enriches this record, like the sparkly 12-string acoustics that come straight from a Rush record creeping into ‘Green Technique’ beside the slithery DnB seasick vocal, or the emotional flutter of Tim Hecker synth on following track ‘Wolves’, the pinnacle of the album. Things get a lil smooth on the rather sporadic and surreal ‘Onyx’, featuring sultry verses from Le1f.

It seems that Drew Lustman has successfully married his old sound with the life-affirming vibes of oldskool artists such as LTJ Bukem, and I’d expect some fiery DJ slots to match it. FJM for the open minded dubheadz.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.