Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Cineola / Death Waltz Recording Co / CINEOLA3 / DW39
  • Add The The to your favourites
  • Add Cineola to your favourites
1 review | 14 people love this record: be the 15th!

The soundtrack to the film Hyena from The The. This is a twenty track album, along with a hardcover book featuring exclusive material including interviews, photos, and notes from the director Gerard Johnson. Dealing with police corruption in Bayswater and Queensway, it’s an uncompromising movie with a soundtrack to match. On CD from Cineola.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £23.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 240 ?
  • DW39 / Blue coloured vinyl 2LP with 'The The' logo etching on side 4. In leather look sleeve with booklet + lobby card on Death Waltz

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £15.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CINEOLA3 / Deluxe CD + hardback book on Cineola

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for The The - Hyena - wanna see 'em?


Hyena by The The
1 review. Add your own review.
14 people love this record. Be the 15th!
8/10 Laurie Staff review, 29 July 2015

Gotta love the level of spook here. As with most Death Waltz OSTs, I’ve never seen Hyena, but it sounds dark ‘n’ uneasy as you’d expect. On this one, The The is main man Matt Johnson doing it all solo, building atmospheres of criminal suspense to reflect the main character’s descent.

Johnson’s usually doing one of two things here. On one hand he’s lazily & hazily thwacking on chimes, guitar strings and synth keys, sparsely placing sound objects in a cavernous echospace as if recorded in a sewer under our beloved capital. ‘The Invisible City (Reign)’ is a highlight from the deeper tracks, with distant distorted washes rearing up and crashing down like that recent FIS record. But there’s also thumping 80s funtimes too, which you reach at track 4 with ‘Blondes Before Bedtime’, continued with ‘Blue Eyes’ and ‘Fear Porn’ but getting increasingly more tense and foreboding. ‘Take Me Away From This’ is a nice borderline between melancholy and impending fate, presumably the main guy’s fed up by now and the music shows.

This is one of the better things I’ve heard come from the Death Waltz label, Matt Johnson’s sounds going far beyond most of the old soundtracks that they unearth. Sorry DW, I was born in 1991, as Ian would say, I wouldn’t understand.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.