Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

‘MG’ is the first solo album in over a decade by Depeche Mode co-founder Martin Gore, due for release on the 27th of April on London based label Mute records. This low-key titled album, recorded at Gore’s home studio in Santa Barbara comprises of sixteen tracks of instrumental electronic music soundscapes with a classic sci-fi soundtracks influence.

  • Double LP £18.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • STUMM381 / 2LP + CD on Mute aka Martin Gore of Depeche Mode

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CDSTUMM381
  • CDSTUMM381 / CD on Mute aka Martin Gore of Depeche Mode

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


MG by MG 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

8/10 Staff review, 23 April 2015

Old synth guys never die - they just escape from their big stadium bands for a while and make interesting electronica. Martin Gore is famous for two things: Firstly he is a dead ringer for York City’s hardworking-but-devoid-of-end-product winger Lindon Meikle, secondly he was/is in Depeche Mode and has written a fair whack of their classics over the years. He must have one of the worlds biggest banks balances but instead of sitting at home eating gold he’s still out there making ‘difficult’ electronica.

Music for the masses this is not but it’s a very enjoyable 16 tracks of pounding industrial electronica. One of Gore’s main hallmarks when he took on the reigns of Depeche Mode from Vince Clark was the use of scraping metal and slashing industrial noises amongst the pop music. That aesthetic remains in this pulverising work of meaty electronica. It harks back to the early day electronic music that surely influenced him as a young man, reminiscent at times of John Foxx, early Human League, Cabaret Voltaire and Throbbing Gristle, this is a sci-fi inspired soundtrack where pulsating, flashing instrumentals such as ‘Elk’ sit quite happily next to the-future-as-seen-through-the-car-window-of-a-Datsun-Cherry-in-1977 pieces such as the glinting ‘Brink’. Opener ‘Pinking’ meanwhile is as bouncy and melodic as anything on Autechre’s ‘LP5’.

This is a really enjoyable work, possibly because it is made by a man enjoying himself working in a genre he is obviously still in love with.  



  • MG by MG


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.