Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

Midaircondo, coming at you straight out of Sweden, are onto their fourth album (hence the title IV), and they aim at an electronica that maintains acoustic elements: an organic feel rather than a 100% cold aesthetic. Boldly, they recorded this album in the studio with an audience, forcing the duo into committing to the immediate sound. On Twin Seed Recordings.

  • Double LP £27.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / 2LP in limited edition hand-made collector's box. Edition of 150 copies on Twin Seed Recordings

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?


  • IV by Midaircondo


IV by Midaircondo
2 reviews. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!
9/10 Laurie Staff review, 04 February 2015

This is Le Grande Electroacoustique Deluxe. The presentation is less a record than a sort of foreboding monolith, commanding a quiet authority much like the black thing in 2001. Upon opening, you’re greeted by some lovely 12” prints as well as the heavy 2xLPs. With the word ‘secretive’ mentioned in the press release, it gets me thinking that this may just be a case of style over content.

Nope, it’s great. The level of care gone into the production of this record is obvious - its been 4 years since their last one, so plenty of time to meditate on their next direction etc etc. Ah yes, the direction. IV traverses electronic noisescapes into experimental pop, teetering on the brink of rumbling, looping darkness. Patches of a brighter outlook are definitely here, as the first moments of side B prove with a freeform plucked harp/guitar/whatever chiming away amidst some fragile vocals, drifting off into the reverbed Nether with a thudding kick as it nears its close. Probably worth getting just for this one.

There’s clearly some dance influence here with kick drums and looping percs popping up, but always as an accompaniment to the main course of dirgey ritual cycles featuring all sorts of treated recordings of knocked cups and rustles. Feedback, synth drones and saxophone lines linger under the surface giving it a sort of ‘doomjazz’ sheen.

Such a meeting point of styles should be a complete mess, this isn’t. It hops from one tonal arsenal to the next, always retaining some form of raw beauty egged on by perfectly dusty Burial-esque production. I guess that’s a dark version of Burlesque. Always thought Bevan would take it to the stage.

So yes, this is both style AND content, and I can honestly say that I’m very content with this content.

9/10 Tony Young Customer review, 9th March 2015

An ultra limited edition hand made collectors box houses this double heavy vinyl release, from Gothenburg’s pioneering electronica duo; recorded in front of a lice audience at Svenska in Sweden. Utilising a variety of instrumentation from Bass Flute, Zither and Saxophone; the coupling of Lisa Nordström and Lisen Rylander Löve weave a captivating web of sultry and evocative vocal talents, into an oozing mass of slow electronics; that capitalises on the very best of inky-black Jazz aesthetics on opener ‘They Fall’.

In contrast, ‘Higher’ pulls on a looser dance orientation, reminiscent of ‘Ultra’-era Depeche mode; that is offset with the light drizzle effect of ‘Sun Upon You’ and the ambient hums of ‘Solitude’, before the return to the Jazz interlude of ‘Closer’.

From the bitcrushed beats of ‘Veins’, the machine head patters of ‘Apology’, to the Dub infused ‘Panther’; the ever evident vocal talents of Nordström and Rylander twist and turn upon themselves and are the glue that gel the album together as a whole. Think, the rabid children of Bat For Lashes and Björk, with the genetic interruption of Halou and you would be somewhere close, coupled with the production values of Burial for good measure.

‘IV’ is one of those albums that covers a plethora of sounds and measures them equally, to become their own individual melting pot of colliding genres. It’s that impressive that I actually feel aggrieved at receiving a promo CD; and will be dipping into my own purse to purchase this in it’s correct format.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.