Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Liam Hayes' brings the occasional and infrequent rain of Chicago (get back to me, city natives) to our shores with Slurrup, his eccentrically titled new record, which delivers more of the same cheeky folk-affected pop rock. With his voice of delighted gravel, Hayes offers up another surprisingly good time. 

  • LP £15.49 £9.29
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 93 ?
  • FP14893 / Ltd indies only white vinyl LP on Possum
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-5 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • FP14892 / CD on Fat Possum

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-5 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £15.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • FP14891
  • FP14891 / LP on Fat Possum

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Slurrup by Liam Hayes
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!

7/10 Penrith Steve Customer review, 16th January 2015

The best thing Liam Hayes has ever done was his first EP, “Three Quarters Blind Eyes” under his Plush moniker, which he now seems to have dropped. I’ve found everything else he’s done to be rather average at best. I’ve always had high hopes for him though – I think he’s a got a gem of an album in him somewhere. “Slurrup” is good, not sure if it’s the cracker I’m waiting for, but bits of it do grow with each listen. “One Way Out” is ‘70s new-wave tinged pop. The album comes into its own with the next two tracks, “Nothing Wrong” and “Get It Right” which standout and both surf a wave of post-Beatles soft rock. The album as whole sounds like the kind of '70s rock album that would never have been made if the Beatles hadn’t recorded “Let It Be”. “Fokus” is one of the standout tracks and has a bit of Apples in Stereo about it. With the exception of the pointless “Channel 44” and perhaps “August Fourteen”, I don’t think there’s a bad track on here, really. “Greenfield” is a nice ballad, “Keys to Heaven”, “Long Day” and “Outhouse” are all decent, up-tempo songs. I guess lots of it, well, nice and there are three tracks that are very good. It does have a 1970 Beatles vibe running through the whole album but possibly what lets it down is that the songs aren’t written by McCartney, Lennon or Harrison. Am I expecting too much?




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.